Difference between revisions of "Mac OS Managed Software Center"

From William Paterson University - Information Technology's Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Line 63: Line 63:
  
 
<div class="toccolours mw-collapsible " style="width:511px">
 
<div class="toccolours mw-collapsible " style="width:511px">
[[Image:Optional_installs.png‎ |center|511px]] Fig 8: A partial list of available optional installs. The user (or tech) can also go here to remove a previously installed optional install.
+
[[Image:Optional_installs.png‎ |center|511px]] Fig 8: A partial list of available optional installs. The user (or tech) can also go here to remove a previously installed optional install. (Updated December 11, 2013)
 
</div>
 
</div>
 
[[Category:Apple]]
 
[[Category:Apple]]

Revision as of 09:30, 11 December 2013


The Managed Software Update runs a periodic check for available updates. The software may be manually run by the user or a tech. Managed Software Update resides in the /Applications/Utilities folder:


Checking for items.png

Fig. 1: Checking for updates after being launched by the user

When Managed Update is run it will check against the central server for a list of available updates. It will also check the APPLE SUS for Apple supplied updates. When it finds updates it downloads the package installers:


Checking and downloading items.png
Fig. 2: Managed Update has found an update and is downloading the install package.

A message will appear listing the available updates, in this case the Office 2011 14.3.1 update :


Item to update.png
Fig. 3: Window informing the user that there are available updates. Note that the user may postpone some installs. Some items are marked for an unattended install and will happen without user intervention. Also note the "optional installs" button.


Users can opt to do the update later if they are busy. Eventually installs will not wait. Below we see that 4 items are flagged for install. Certain items will have an “install by” date and if the user has not done the install. Newly imaged machines will have all items flagged.


Past due items.png
Fig. 4: Managed Update is indicating that some items have passed their "install by" date. At this point the user still has the option of postponing updates.


Users can install with or without a logout depending on the item(s) to be installed. Some items require a logout.


Update options.png
Fig. 5: User has the option of having the computer do a logout to do updates. Useful for end of day updates. If a pending update requires a logout, then Managed Update will notify the user so that they may plan accordingly.


Eventually Managed Update will get aggressive with updates and display a message similar to the one below. Note the warning about saving work.:

Forced Logout.png
Fig. 6: In this case the user has postponed updates to long. Managed update will display a stern warning.


Optional Installs

There are certain items that are optional installs for all faculty and staff. They may install these items at will. They may select these by selecting the "optional installs" button. Note that some items carry a disclaimer.


Software up to date.png
Fig 7: In this example the user has initiated a manual update check. Managed Update has informed the user that they are up to date and gives them the option to look at optional installs



Optional installs.png
Fig 8: A partial list of available optional installs. The user (or tech) can also go here to remove a previously installed optional install. (Updated December 11, 2013)